British Gold Commonwealth £1/Sovereign Coins

40 80 120

British Commonwealth Sovereign Coins

APMEX offers a wide selection of Commonwealth Mint Sovereigns from countries such as Australia, Canada, India and South Africa.
  • In 1871, the Sydney Mint was the first of the Australian mints to strike Gold sovereigns, with Melbourne following in 1872 and finally The Perth Mint in 1899. Each mint produced coins with their own mintmark, S, M or P, respectively, adding an aspect of collectibility to the popular Gold sovereign design.
  • The Ottawa Mint sovereign is a British one pound coin, known as a sovereign, minted between 1908 and 1919 at the Ottawa Mint, known today as the Ottawa branch of the Royal Canadian Mint. Since the opening of the Ottawa Mint, the Dominion of Canada’s government wanted to produce decimal Gold coins. As it was a branch of The Royal Mint, it was obligated to mint sovereigns on request. When sovereigns were requested, it was usually for export causes.
  • The Sovereign has an established history in India. It was first minted in India as a commemorative coin in 1918 when a branch of the Royal Mint was opened in Bombay inside the walls of the Indian Government Mint. Sovereigns were produced to the exacting same standards as those produced in London. In 2013, The Royal Mint licensed MMTC-PAMP India to strike the commemorative Sovereign in India.
  • The South African mintage of Gold sovereigns officially started in 1923, but the first two years 1923 and 1924 have very low mintages. Those dates sell for a much higher premium and are not seen very often. These Gold Sovereigns were only minted during the reign of the King George V.
155K+ Customer Reviews
4.9/5 Overall Satisfaction Rating
Check out what other customers are saying.

 (0)

There are no items in the cart.