Free Shipping on Orders Over $99



Timeline of the United States Mint After 1986

1986 was an important year for the United States Mint. After the introduction of the American Silver Eagles, the mint became an important institution for numismatics. In 1986, the mint struck the American Silver Eagles and Gold Eagles on the heels of the success of the South African Krugerrands. The South African Mint introduced the Krugerrand in 1967 and its popularity soared in South Africa then quickly all over the world. The Krugerrand dominated the Gold coin market in the 80s. The popularity of the coin spurned mints around the world to take a proactive approach in creating beautiful Gold and Silver coins that would be as popular as the Krugerrand

The American Gold Eagles and Silver American Eagles helped define the U.S. Mint. Mintages for the Silver and Gold Eagles were proportionally lower than standard circulating coins, which kept interest in these coins high. 

History of the U.S. Mint Programs after 1986

The Liberty Coin Act of 1985 and the Gold Bullion Coin Act of 1985 gave the U.S. Mint authority to set the face value of currency. Also important is the acts stipulated that only Gold and Silver sourced in the United States would be used for minting the Gold Eagles and Silver Eagles.This helped bolster the image of the mint, developing a long-lasting relationship with the American public. The Defense National Stockpile carried an extensive amount of Silver and Gold used for the coins. In 2002, the U.S. Treasury authorized a purchase of more Silver and Gold on the private market to supplement the supply at the National Stockpile. This is a testament to the popularity and strength of the Eagles program of 1986. The mintage of the Silver Eagles gives you an idea of how popular the coin is to the history of United States numismatics. The Eagle coins were able to compete with the Krugerrand and the other coins produced by Austria, South Africa, China and Canada. 

The U.S. Mint authorized several special numismatic programs after 1986 to keep pace with the Krugerrand. Krugerrands dominated the Gold and Silver coins market until the United States Mint introduced the Silver and Gold Eagle coins. Other U.S. Mint programs after 1986 include:

  • American Buffalos (2006)
  • U.S. Gold Commemoratives (Varying years of production based on commemorative sets) 
  • First Spouse Coins (2007)
  • America the Beautiful Coins (2010)
  • Silver U.S. Commemoratives (Varying years of production based on commemorative sets)
  • Native American Coins (2013)
  • Presidential $1 Coins (2005)

The United States Mint has a long history of creating bullion collected by people all over the world. They have a unique program that helps them compete with other wonderfully made coins by mints all over the world. The mint's history is important to know in order to give us a guide of where the future of United States numismatics can go. At APMEX, you can find several Silver and Gold coins at competitive prices. 


 (0)

There are no items in the cart.