What are Graded Coins?

coin grade denotes a coin's condition in minute increments. There are five components that determine the grade of a coin: strike, surface preservation, luster, coloration and eye appeal. Coins are meticulously scrutinized during the process of grading. What appears to be an insignificant flaw to a layman can greatly affect graded coin value. Even when done by those at the top of their field, there is a subjective element to coin grading and experts may slightly disagree about the grade of a given coin.

The best way to minimize subjectivity and maintain exacting standards is to use respected coin grading services such as NGC and PCGS. Certified coins assigned a measured grade by a reputable third-party grading service are referred to as graded coins.


Knowing what a graded coin is, or certified coin, may awaken greater curiosity about the process of grading coins. Coin grading is an art as well as a science, and it is a lifetime’s work to become an expert. Of course, knowledge is power. The more a collector knows about grading and graded coin values, the better equipped he or she is to make smart buying decisions.

There are many tutorials on how to grade a coin for those who wish to learn about the process. Unsurprisingly, the educational materials at PCGS and NGC may be the best place to begin. However, no private individual’s grades make a difference when selling a coin. Only coins graded by a reputable third-party grading service are considered certified coins.

Anyone wishing to enter into amateur coin grading will need some basic supplies, including a jeweler’s pad to protect your coin in case of an accidental drop, cotton gloves and a 5x magnifier. The most important thing to remember is not to damage your coin while handling it. You may also wish to practice photographing coins with your camera or smartphone to capture images as you learn how to grade your coins.


Grading standards refer to the descriptions assigned to each number of the grading scale, explained in more detail below. Knowing and understanding these descriptions is essential to understanding not only the basics of how to grade your coin but also what details third-party grading services are evaluating.

  • MS/PF-70
    A coin with no post-production imperfections at 5x magnification.
  • MS/PF-69
    A fully struck coin with nearly imperceptible imperfections.
  • MS/PF-68
    Very sharply struck with only miniscule imperfections.
  • MS/PF-67
    Sharply struck with only a few imperfections.
  • MS/PF-66
    Very well struck with minimal marks and hairlines.
  • MS/PF-65
    Well struck with moderate marks or hairlines.
  • MS/PF-64
    Average or better strike with several obvious marks or hairlines and other miniscule imperfections.
  • MS/PF-63
    Slightly weak or average strike with moderate abrasions and hairlines of varying sizes.
  • MS/PF-62 
    Slightly weak or average strike with no trace of wear. More or larger abrasions than an MS/PF-63.
  • MS/PF-61
    Weak or average strike with no trace of wear. More marks and/or multiple large abrasions.
  • MS/PF-60
    Weak or average strike with no trace of wear. Numerous abrasions, hairlines and/or large marks.
  • AU-58
    Slight wear on the highest points of the design. Full details.
  • AU-55
    Slight wear on less than 50% of the design. Full details.
  • AU-53
    Slight wear on more than 50% of the design. Full details except for very minor softness on the high points.
  • AU-50
    Slight wear on more than 50% of the design. Full details except for minor softness on the high points.
  • XF-45
    Complete details with minor wear on some of the high points.
  • XF-40
    Complete details with minor wear on most of the high points.
  • VF-35
    Complete details with wear on all of the high points.
  • VF-30
    Nearly complete details with moderate softness on the design areas.
  • VF-25
    Nearly complete details with more softness on the design areas.
  • VF-20
    Moderate design detail with sharp letters and digits.
  • F-15
    Recessed areas show slight softness. Letters and digits are sharp.
  • F-12
    Recessed areas show more softness. Letters and digits are sharp.
  • VG-10
    Wear throughout the design. Letters and digits show softness.
  • VG-8
    Wear throughout the design. Letters and digits show more softness.
  • G-6
    Peripheral letters and digits are full. Rims are sharp.
  • G-4
    Peripheral letters and digits are nearly full. Rims exhibit wear.
  • AG-3
    Most letters and digits are readable. Rims are worn into the fields.
  • FR-2
    Some details are visible. Rims are barely visible.
  • PO-1
    Enough detail to identify the coin's date and type. Rims are flat or nearly flat.


All graded coins receive a numerical value or grade along the Sheldon Grading Scale. Each number is essentially a code for the coin’s physical description, detailed above. This scale has evolved over the time to reflect finer and finer grade distinctions.

Originally, coins were graded either new or used, which as you can imagine left far too much room for error in graded coin value. As the collector market grew, so did greater distinction in coin conditions and coin values. Then, in 1948, respected numismatist Dr. William Herbert Sheldon took steps to standardize coin grading, proposing what is now known as the Sheldon Grading Scale. Sheldon’s 1 to 70 grading scale is now the internationally accepted standard in coin grading. It is said the original theory behind this scale was that a 70-grade coin would be 70 times more valuable than a 1-grade coin.


Thanks to respected coin grading standards and a reputation for reliability, PCGS-graded coins recognize high values in the marketplace. The company offers:

  • The PCGS Price Guide as a comprehensive list of PCGS coin values for PCGS-graded coins.
  • PCGS certification with a money-back guarantee.
  • PCGS Photograde™ Online, a tool to approximate the grade of a coin.


NGC is the official grading service of the American Numismatic Association and the Professional Numismatists Guild, establishing NGC coin grading as an industry standard. Other distinctions include:

  • The NGC Collectors Society, an online resource and community where members can discuss NGC coin values and NGC coin prices. Members of the NGC Collectors Society pay an annual fee so they can directly submit coins for NGC certification.
  • NGC coin grading scale with a special star designation for coins with exceptional eye appeal, increasing NGC coin values.
  • NGC certification number that can be verified online along with NGC Price Guide Values.

Certified coins make strong additions to every collection. Proven quality, authenticity and protection make graded coins desirable to anyone interested in building a valuable collection. APMEX carries a wide selection of coins certified by PCGS and NGC.

 (0)

There are no items in the cart.