Mintage of only 388 coins! In 2017, the Shengxiào Lunar Collection features a Marsh Daisy rooster strutting through flowers.
- Contains 5 oz of .999 fine Silver in a Proof finish.
- Comes in a mint box with a numbered certificate of authenticity.
- Mintage of only 388 coins.
- Obverse: Depicts the fifth definitive portrait of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II, along with the face value of 10 pounds.
- Reverse: Features a Marsh Daisy Rooster, along with the inscription "Year of the Rooster," and the weight, purity and year.
- Official legal tender backed by British government.
Add this stunning 2017 5 oz Silver Year of the Rooster Proof coin to your cart today!
Each lunar animal is believed to display their own characteristics and, like the rooster strutting through the farmyard, crowing to attract attention, people born in the Year of the Rooster are believed to be confident characters who love to stand out from the crowd.
The rooster shown in this design is a Marsh Daisy from the Lancashire area of northern England. The ten flowers in the foreground are also called Marsh Daisies (or sea-thrift). In Chinese culture the number ten is believed to symbolize perfection and, as the rooster is also the tenth animal in the zodiac cycle, this year promises to bring luck and prosperity.
Each mintage incorporates the number eight, also believed to be lucky in Chinese culture. The Shengxiào Collection celebrates the 12-year Lunar calendar and its traditions in a unique fusion of Chinese and British heritage. Following the success of the coins struck in the years of the Horse, Sheep and Monkey, this coin features the Rooster and is presented in strictly limited mintages.
This year’s coin is once more designed by British-Chinese artist Wuon-Gean Ho, whose cultural heritage makes her the ideal artist to convey the meeting of east and west. Wuon-Gean has created a beautiful and dynamic design that captures the energy and agility of the intelligent rooster. With work in collections at the Tate and the Victoria and Albert Museum, this is Wuon-Gean’s fourth commission for The Royal Mint.
The minting of coins began in England around the end of the second century B.C. Around A.D. 650, coins were made by craftsmen called “moneyers” in London. In 886, during the reign of Alfred the Great, the London Mint was designated to be a single institution, though there were many other mints in operation around this time. In 1279 the London Mint was moved to the Tower of London where it remained for the next 500 years. Famed physicist Sir Isaac Newton was the Warden of the Mint in 1696 and as such was responsible for investigating cases of counterfeiting. Three years later he was made Master of the Mint, until his death in 1727, and was responsible for moving England from the Silver standard to the Gold standard in 1717.
The Royal Mint had outgrown its home in the Tower of London so during the 18th century the rickety wooden shacks the mint occupied were rebuilt to accommodate mechanized and rolling mills and coining presses and provide more space. Soon, however, the mint outgrew this new location and in 1809, the mint moved from the Tower of London to an adjacent site in East Smithfield called Tower Hill. By 1899, the Royal Mint was striking 100 million coins a year.
In 1967 it was announced that mint would move from its location at Tower Hill to Llantrisant, Wales, following Parliament’s decision to decimalize currency and in 1968 the first coins were officially struck by Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II at the new location in Wales. In 1986, the Royal Mint celebrated 11 centuries of continuous minting. In 2009, the Royal Mint was vested into a government-owned company to provide greater operating and commercial freedom.
One unique aspect of the Royal Mint is a procedure known as the Trial of the Pyx, dates back to 1282 and ensures newly-minted coins meet required government standards. The trials have been held once a each year since their inception and have changed very little over time. These trials are presided over by a judge with a jury of expert assayers and were held at the Palace of Westminster before they were moved to the modern-day site at the Hall of the Worshipful Company of Goldsmiths. The ceremony was so named after the boxwood chest in which coins were placed for presentation to the jury.