South African Mint Big Five Silver Coins & All Other

40 80 120


Product Type











About The African Big Five Silver Series

The South African Mint has issued a series of popular silver coins known as the "Big Five" series. These coins celebrate five iconic African animals that are considered among the most impressive and sought-after wildlife species on the continent. The Big Five animals are the lion, elephant, buffalo, leopard, and rhinoceros.

Each coin in the Big Five series typically features a detailed engraving of one of these majestic creatures on the reverse side. The obverse side typically depicts the South African coat of arms or other relevant national symbols.

Here's a brief overview of the Big Five animals featured on these coins:

1. Lion: Known as the "King of the Jungle," the lion is an apex predator and a symbol of strength, courage, and leadership.
2. Elephant: Elephants are the largest land animals on Earth and are revered for their intelligence, social structures, and gentle nature.
3. Buffalo: The African buffalo is a formidable and robust creature, often found in large herds, and represents endurance and resilience.
4. Leopard: The leopard is an elusive and powerful big cat, known for its striking beauty and stealthy hunting abilities.
5. Rhinoceros: Rhinos are ancient and prehistoric-looking creatures, sadly endangered due to poaching, and serve as a symbol of conservation efforts.

The Big Five silver coins are typically minted in various sizes, with popular denominations such as 1 oz, 2 oz, and 5 oz, among others. They are struck from .999 pure silver, making them valuable not only for their artistic designs but also as precious metal investments.

Significance Of The Big Five

The term "Big Five" originally referred to the five most difficult and dangerous animals to hunt on foot in Africa. However, in modern times, the Big Five have become symbolic figures representing Africa's unique and awe-inspiring wildlife. These animals hold significant cultural, ecological, and economic importance on the African continent. Here's more about each of the Big Five animals and their meanings:

1. Lion: The lion (Panthera leo) is often referred to as the "King of the Jungle" or "King of Beasts." It is a symbol of strength, courage, royalty, and leadership. Lions are social animals that live in prides, typically consisting of related females and their cubs, along with a dominant male. They are highly skilled hunters and are known for their distinctive manes in male individuals. Lions have been deeply ingrained in African folklore, mythology, and cultural traditions.

Meaning: The lion embodies qualities like bravery, nobility, and familial bonds. It is a symbol of power and authority in many African cultures.

2. Elephant: The African elephant (Loxodonta africana and Loxodonta cyclotis) is the world's largest land mammal. These majestic creatures are known for their immense size, intelligence, and complex social structures. Elephants are deeply revered in African cultures and hold a sacred significance. They are considered a symbol of wisdom, strength, longevity, and memory.

Meaning: The elephant represents family values, unity, and the importance of kinship. It is also a symbol of patience, empathy, and the need for environmental conservation.

3. Buffalo: The African buffalo (Syncerus caffer) is a formidable and robust animal. Often found in large herds, buffaloes are known for their strength, resilience, and territorial behavior. They are one of the "Big Five" due to their unpredictability and potential danger when threatened.

Meaning: The buffalo is a symbol of survival, toughness, and the ability to endure challenges. In some cultures, it represents prosperity and abundance due to its association with vast herds.

4. Leopard: The leopard (Panthera pardus) is a solitary and elusive big cat known for its striking spotted coat and powerful hunting skills. It is a symbol of grace, agility, and stealth.

Meaning: The leopard embodies adaptability and the ability to navigate life's challenges with elegance and tenacity. It is also associated with mystery and mystery.

5. Rhinoceros: The African rhinoceros (Diceros bicornis and Ceratotherium simum) is a critically endangered species due to poaching for its horn. Rhinos are prehistoric-looking creatures with thick skin and distinctive horns. They are symbols of resilience, ancient wisdom, and the need for conservation efforts.

Meaning: The rhino represents the importance of protecting endangered species and the balance of nature. It is a symbol of strength and the fight against illegal wildlife trade.

The Big Five animals are not only essential components of Africa's biodiversity but also vital for its tourism industry, drawing wildlife enthusiasts from around the world to witness these magnificent creatures in their natural habitats. As such, their conservation remains a priority to protect Africa's natural heritage for future generations.
210,000+ Customer Reviews
4.9 Overall Satisfaction Rating, the Highest Score in the Industry
Check out what other customers are saying.

 (0)

There are no items in the cart.